Nigeria Politics




All Progressives Congress (APC) Amuwo Odofin Federal Constituency House of Representative – Elect, Prince Lanre Sanusi, has congratulated trio of Mrs. (Dr) Idiat Adebule (Lagos West), Mr Tokunbo Abiru (Lagos East) and Hon Sanni Eshinlokun (Lagos Central) on their primary election victory, urging them to see their election victory as entrusted in them as sacred. 

“PLS” as he is popularly called urged the APC National Assembly candidates to do all within their powers to not only nurture and deepen the institutions of the Legislature after been elected at the general elections but to also help deepen our promising democracy. Their task when eventually elected, he said, “is to compliment and support the President to deliver on the APC administration’s progressive agenda and to truly take the country to the Next Level with detailed, timely and progressive legislative initiatives that will restore a sense of patriotism to the exalted offices they will be occupying”

Sanusi a US trained financial expert and tax consultant spoke in a congratulatory message issued on Wednesday night by his Media Office and made available to the media. 

In the statement titled “Lagos State on the verge of nurturing & deepening Democracy,” the philanthropist said: 

“I congratulate the Senators-Elects for Lagos East, Lagos West and Lagos Central during the APC primaries as we prepare towards the 2023 general elections.  

“To have been voted by such overwhelming majority by the delegates is a delightful honour and a clear demonstration of the implicit confidence reposed in them as leaders and celebrated party members. The offices these leaders have been entrusted with are sacred and a vote for good representation. 

“Their emergence as Senators-Elect came at a crucial time in our nation’s history, particularly as Lagos State seek more inclusion and special recognition. As we celebrate over 2 decades of uninterrupted democracy and our new National Democracy Day of June 12, we look backwards to recognise the sacrifices and valour of our heroes past. We also look forward with hope for the future of our nation and our democracy. 

“Their elections in a free, fair and transparent manner is therefore a further demonstration of the fact that our internal party democracy may not be perfect but functioning well. It also reaffirms party supremacy because these persons are also the choices of our majority as a party. 

“As Lagos Senators to be, I urge them to do all within their powers to not only nurture and deepen the institutions of the parliament but also our promising democracy. Their task now is to compliment and support the APC President-Elect to deliver on his administration’s progressive agenda and truly take the country to the Next Level. This they must do with detailed, timely and progressive legislative initiatives and restore a sense of patriotism to the exalted offices they intend to occupy. 

“It is imperative that the Senators-Elect departs from any adversarial posture of those that came before and extends hands of fellowship and friendship to the Executive. A convivial and cooperative relationship between the legislative and executive arms of government is our best chance at achieving the progress that we, as Nigerians, deserve and its incumbent on all to make this a reality in this next dispensation. 

“Our system speaks of complimentarity between the Executive and Legislature and does not preclude the Legislature from working harmoniously with the Executive in the service of our people. 

“I also congratulate those who contested the various positions but did not win at present for putting up a gallant fight. However, the time has now come to put aside all differences and rally round the elected Senators to work together. 

“I wish the Senators Elect and the APC a victorious and successful general election, once again – congratulations.” 

Push News 24 International repports, Senator Tokunbo Abiru and former Deputy Governor of Lagos State, Dr Idiat Adebule, have emerged winner in the Saturday, East and West Senatorial primaries of the Lagos All Progressives Congress, APC 

Senator Abiru who is the sole candidate in the race scored 344 votes to emerge winner of the primary. According to the returning officer Mr Faoud Oki, a total of 355 delegates were expected from the five local government areas which made up the senatorial zone at the venue, but 344 turned up for accreditation and all the delegates cast their votes for Abiru. 

Abiru, while speaking with newsmen, shortly after the declaration of his victory, expressed appreciation to party leaders and delegates who stood by him. He added that the success he recorded at the Senate by attracting good projects to his constituency was one of the reasons he was the consensus candidate of his constituency. 

Recall, that Abiru was elected Senator in a bye election, held in December 2020 to complete the term of Senator Bayo Osinowo who died as a result of complication from Covid-19. n the Lagos West Senatorial primary election, result showed: Adebule scored- 
424, Musiliu Obanikoro scored- 119, while Kayode Opeifa scored -4 votes, with10 invalid votes. 

Deputy Speaker of the Lagos State House of Assembly, Rt Hon Wasiu Eshinlokun-Sanni, has clinched the APC ticket to contest the Lagos Central Senatorial District seat in the 2023 general elections. 

Mr Eshinlokun-Sanni defeated three other contestants for the ticket currently being held by Oluremi Tinubu, a third-term occupier of the seat who is not seeking re-election. 

Announcing the result on Saturday, Tolani Sule, Chairman of the five-man APC Electoral Committee and Returning Officer for the election, said that Mr Eshinlokun-Sanni scored 185 votes to defeat his closest rival, Demola Seriki, who polled 97 votes. 

According to Mr Sule, the other contestants: Akeem Apatira scored 22 votes while Oyinlomo Danmole polled zero votes. 

The returning officer said that 308 ad hoc delegates were accredited out of 310 ad hoc delegates expected. 

He said the total number of votes cast was 304 without any invalid votes. 

“Wasiu Sanni-Eshinlokun scored 185 votes,” he said.