Nigeria Politics



Hon Olaitan Segun Folorunso

Construction Expert and Philanthropist, Hon Olaitan Segun Folorunso popularly called Olawestern has won in grand style, the All Progressives Congress (APC) primary ticket for Amuwo Odofin Constituency 1, to the Lagos State House of Assembly.

Push News 24 International reports that Mrs Mojisola Alli-Macaulay, representing Amuwo Odofin Constituency 1 in the Lagos State House of Assembly has failed to pick the APC ticket to run for a second term.

The primary was conducted under heavy presence of security personnel, including the Nigeria Police, Department of States Services (DSS), Nigerian Security and Civil Defense Corps (NSCDC) and observers from the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

The primary election took place at Amuwo Odofin on Friday with a total of 20 delegates present, who voted Olawestern in as the candidate of the APC.

Alli-Macaulay, the incumbent lawmaker, seemingly unpopular lost the ticket to Mr Olaitan Folorunso at the APC free and fair primary election held on Friday.

Push News 24 International also reports that the accreditation of delegates began at 2.20 p.m. while voting commenced at 2.40 p.m.

Olawestern’s constituents, who turned out to witness the historic event, jubilated after the grassroots politician was confirmed as the candidate of the party, having gotten the highest votes cast.

Olawestern, who has been who has been supporting the party financially and participating actively in community initiatives was also the favorite of the people in the 2019 primaries but had to accept the party decision to step aside to favour a gender balance in the polity. This he accepted and never relent in his efforts to affect the lives of his people, the result of which was the outcome of the 2022 APC primaries.

Olawestern has been provided excellent initiatives to the people of Amuwo Odofin 1, he had initiated many people-oriented programmes and empowerment outreaches that has affected positively the lives of the people.

One of the delegates (name withheld) was quoted to have said ” since 2019 to date, Olawestern has doubled his efforts in his rapport and activities with the people and his main interests are in the infrastructure, social welfare, education and health, in which he has provided many interventions”

According to another delegate, “he deserves the peoples backing because of all he has done for the constituency”.

“This is in appreciation of what he has done for us in Amuwo Odofin despite not been in government and has positively touched the lives of all in Amuwo beyond our expectations. He appears as the most prepared amongst all,” she said.

Three aspirants, including Mr Adesina Ado, contested for the ticket at Amuwo Odofin constituency 1, while 20 delegates from four wards voted at the election.

Alli-Macaulay got four votes, Ado also picked four while Folorunso won with 12 votes to emerge winner.

The Returning Officer, Mr Akintola Falade, announced Folorunso as the winner of the APC LAHA primary election.

“When we summed up the number of the figures, while Mojisola Alli-Macaulay scored four, Ado Adesina scored four, Folorunso Olaitan scored 12.

“By virtue of that, we have Hon. Olaitan Segun Folorunso as winner of the primary election conducted today, May 27, at Amuwo Odofin constituency 1,” he said.

By Prince Olalekan Ojo Martins

Push News 24 International is a member of Push Communications Media , a 21st century public relations, multimedia and events management company with offices in Nigeria and the United States of America.

Push News 24 International is a go-to online news and event coverage, reportage and coverage medium. Our organization manage and package your events.

Our experienced team of reporters will add details and finesse to your individual and corporate events.

Prince Olamilekan Ojo Martins ( MNIPR)
Email: /


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *